When a job is ran on a branch it creates an entry in the left panel on the dashboard for the project. As these branches hold historical data of builds they are not deleted when the branch is removed from the VCS (Github/BitBucket). However as branches become old or irrelevant it would be nice to be able to deactivate them in CircleCI or "Archive" them in a way they are no longer in view.
Example of a discuss post on the topic.
Discuss post: https://discuss.circleci.com/t/how-can-i-remove-an-old-branch/1323